RSS

28 Apr

Tuesday's Horse

Former Thoroughbred jockey Gary Stevens

“I did whatever I had to do to show up, whether is was injections in my knees or whatever,” Stevens said. “My career ended much earlier than it should have had I given myself the proper amount of time to heal up every time I was hurt. I didn’t know how bad I was hurting myself sometimes, and racehorses for damn sure don’t know. I would still be riding today, and a lot of good horses would still be running today, if medications weren’t used the way they are.”

— Gary Stevens, retired jockey

This quote comes from an article by Jay Hovdey writing for the Daily Racing Form covering former jockey Gary Stevens invitation to testify on Monday in Pennsylvania, where the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce’s Subcommittee on Health will convene for a hearing on the subject of “A Review of Efforts to Protect…

View original post 171 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “

  1. Kathryn Baker

    April 29, 2012 at 4:55 AM

    The world of horse racing is hard on not only the horses but the jockeys as well. I hope that more jockeys will voice their opinions on their problems as well as the problems that the horses face.

    Now I know that jockeys have to be careful because they need to ride and cannot engage in heated arguments or comments about their employers.

    However, jockeys can be a force for good in the racing world, they are stars that ride stars, and as such, they owe it to their profession to stand up for the very horses that enable them to work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
